A fact about art

Art is not a thing; it is a way.
– Elbert Hubbard
When I touched a brush for the first time (not in school but fully conscious)
I heard exactly that:
If you hear a voice within you say ‘you cannot paint,’ then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.
– Vincent Van Gogh
Not knowing what I was doing, I started to paint. I started to flow, dove into colours and allowed my hand to led me. I had no concept, no picture in my head, nothing I wanted to achieve. And I overcame the fear of not being able to paint.
With time, my way of painting changed, I became curious about different styles, different ways to paint and most of all, I was curious about the way things are turning out when they drop from my imagination down to my paper. I started to try things out, I started to be brave. Everything that I painted came out differently than I wanted it to be and though I improvised and I changed plans.
Even now, when I pick up this brush, I am never sure, which barrier I will face, but I know that whatever I do, the journey will never be over!
2 thoughts on “A fact about art

  1. Unfortunately my perfect spot is usually when it’s least handy for me to write a post. I am considering carrying a book with me at all times, so I can write down things and put int on the blog later.
    It has occurred in the weirdest places.
    At work, in the car (probably shouldn’t be writing and driving at the same time, would make it hard to read what ever I wrote later), when I’m going to sleep, during a christening and when ever there is awkward silence.

    Like

Leave a Reply

